BJP registers protest with EC against Cong's RS nominee Rathwa in Gujarat

BJP registers protest with EC against Cong's RS nominee Rathwa in Gujarat

The March 23 biennial Rajya Sabha elections in Gujarat have turned interesting as for only four seats, a total of seven candidates have filed nomination papers.

Meanwhile, Vijay Sankeshwar, owner of influential newspaper Vijayavani, who was also tipped to be BJP's Rajya Sabha candidate rejected initial reports that he was unhappy on being overlooked by the party.

The Congress deployed Leader of Opposition in Assembly, Paresh Dhanani, and senior party leader Shaktisinh Gohil to put forward Rathwa's case. If they (BJP) had believed in true democracy, we would not have had to spend hours in arguments. Naresh Agarwal who was denied a Rajya Sabha ticket quit the Samajwadi Party to join the BJP. Just ahead of the 3 pm deadline, he somehow managed to furnish the required documents.

The Karnataka Congress on Tuesday took a dig at the BJP for its decision to field Rajeev Chandrasekhar for the Rajya Sabha elections from the state, alleging that the party had "cheated" Karnataka by repeatedly opting to nominate non-Kannadigas as representatives. All this while the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party party was raising objection to his nomination.

The Congress party has chose to field Syed Naseer Hussain, AICC spokesman, L Hanumanthaiah, former MLC and former Kannada Development Authority chairman, and G C Chandrashekar, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee general secretary and former Chairman of Karnataka Urban Water Supply and Drainage Board (KUWSDB).

Albert Wilson to sign three-year deal with Dolphins
The Dolphins will send Jarvis Landry and his $16 million salary to the Cleveland Browns when the new league year begins. Aikens has been with the Dolphins since his rookie season in 2014 and has become a key contributor on special teams.

Rajya Sabha elections on March 23 as BJP fields 3 more candidates
M P Veerendra Kumar, State President of Janata Dal (United), Sharad Yadav faction, is the candidate of the ruling CPI-M led LDF. In case the election is necessary, it would be conducted on March 23 from 0900 hrs to 1600 hrs.

UCLA faces St. Bonaventure in NCAA First Four Game
One of the Bonnies' biggest concerns is Courtney Stockard , who suffered a hamstring injury during the Atlantic 10 Tournament . The Bonnies qualify because they have one of the best backcourts in the country with seniors Jaylen Adams and Matt Mobley .

After Rathwa's nomination was accepted, a BJP delegation, led by Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and MP Bhupender Yadav met Election Commission officials over the issue. "Earlier also BJP played this lowly game during Ahmed Patel ji's election and now again, but Rathwa ji's nomination is absolutely correct and he will win comfortably", Surjewala said.

Vaghani said: "We are awaiting the Returning Officer's orders and will decide the next course of action after examining the document". Independent candidate PK Valera is also backed by the Congress.

The third candidate of the Congress is expected to emerge victorious with the likely support of seven JD (S) rebels and B R Patil of the Karnataka Janata Paksha, independent MLA B.R. Nagendra, and Ashok Kheny (Karnataka Makkala Paksha).

The last day of withdrawal of candidature is March 15.

Related Articles