Baker Mayfield claims Davey O'Brien Award

Baker Mayfield claims Davey O'Brien Award

Mayfield leads the nation in passer efficiency rating and has thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Stanford running back Bryce Love and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson are the finalists for The Associated Press college football Player of the Year.

Earlier in the day, Mayfield was selected as the Walter Camp Player of the Year by the Walter Camp Football Foundation. As for the Maxwell Award, which is given to the player of the year in college football, Mayfield beat out a pair of running backs in Penn State's Saquon Barkley and Stanford's Bryce Love.

Mayfield, Love and Jackson are also the finalists for the Heisman, which will be handed out Saturday night in NY. "Obviously, I'm very happy and thankful that I'm being recognized with this".

The O'Brien Award was initially given to the top player in the Southwest before going to a quarterback-only honor in 1981.

The University of Oklahoma football program is heading back to Norman with plenty of hardware in hand after Thursday night's Home Depot College Football Awards in Atlanta.

India captain Virat Kohli, actress Anushka Sharma travel overseas amidst marriage rumours
Their recent presence at the reception of Zaheer Khan and Sagarika Ghatge prompted their lovers to plan their wedding. In December previous year , the couple was vacationing together when reports of their engagement emerged.

News Anchor Responds To Viewer's Racist Email
I could clapback and say a few things to you, but instead I'll let your words speak for themselves". Less than 800 votes separate front-runner Keisha Lance Bottoms from challenger Mary Norwood.

Devin Booker Carried Off Court With Groin Injury
The Suns are pretty awful this season, but they've actually shown little signs of competitiveness from time to time. Booker was coming back down the court when he pulled up and appeared to clutch at his groin area.

Alabama's Minkah Fitzpatrick earned two major honors, claiming the Bednarik Award as the top defensive player in the country and the Jim Thorpe Award that goes to the nation's top defensive back. He's also rushed for 310 yards and five touchdowns.

Junior tackle Orlando Brown was nominated for the Outland Trophy, given to the best interior lineman.

The Austin, Texas, native now leads the nation in passing efficiency, completion percentage and yards per pass attempt.

The Big 12 enjoyed a solid awards night, as Oklahoma State's James Washington won the Biletnikoff Award that is given to the nation's top wide receiver and Texas' Michael Dickson won the Ray Guy Award (nation's top punter). He's had 34 punts of more than 50 yards, 14 of more than 60 yards and a career-long 76-yarder against TCU. Scott Frost, who took the Nebraska head coaching job after leading Central Florida to a 12-0 record and the American Athletic Conference championship two years after he inherited an 0-12 team, was named national coach of the year.

The AP award is the first of what could be several won by Mayfield.

Mayfield was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year on Thursday.

Related Articles