Twins' Molitor, D-Backs' Lovullo win Manager of Year awards

Twins' Molitor, D-Backs' Lovullo win Manager of Year awards

Torey Lovullo of the Arizona Diamondbacks has won the NL Manager of the Year award after his first full season as a big league skipper.

Lovullo received 18 of the 30 first-place votes in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America and five second-place and six third-place votes for a total of 111 points to beat out Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, who received five first-place votes and a total of 55 points.

Molitor's victory was closer than that of the National League, as he received 18 first-place votes in comparison to the 11 that Cleveland Indianas skipper Terry Francona received.

Roberts was the reigning National League Manager of the Year victor after winning the award in 2016, and was looking to become the first back-to-back victor since Bobby Cox with the Atlanta Braves in 2004-2005. Also receiving votes were Craig Counsell of the Brewers, Dusty Baker of the Nationals, and Joe Maddon of the Cubs. He joins Kirk Gibson in 2011 and Bob Melvin in 2007. They ended up losing to the Yankees in a brief playoff appearance.

Republic of Ireland tactics 'clueless' against Denmark, says Keith Andrews
It was Denmark who got the next goal as Eriksen found the back of the net with a composed finish to complete his hat-trick. Denmark's Andreas Christensen takes a shot that went in off Cyrus Christie for their first goal.

Should President Trump Have the Sole Power to Launch Nuclear Missiles?
Tuesday on the president's ability to authorize nuclear weapons. The committee is holding a hearing at 10 a.m. There is the human factor in our system.

Lawyers seek group suit over alleged Uber sex assaults
Tuesday's lawsuit says Uber has made the profit-motivated decision to "look the other way" when it hires and supervises drivers. The unidentified plaintiffs allege they were raped by Uber drivers in separate incidents in Florida and California.

Paul Molitor has won the American League Manager of the Year award after his Minnesota Twins became the first team to make the playoffs following a 100-loss season. Molitor and Frank Robinson are the only Hall of Fame players to win Manager of the Year Awards.

Francona, who won the award previous year, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row.

Molitor wins the honor in his third year with the organization, having come off a 59-win season in 2016.

Roberts finished second with 5 first place votes, 8 second place votes and 6 third place votes.

Related Articles